who hold office for seven years. Under the Act the Public Service Staff Relations Board reports to Parliament, through such Minister of the Crown, other than a member of the Treasury Board, as may be designated by the Governor in Council. As at December 31, 1974 the responsible Minister was the President of the Privy Council.

Queen Elizabeth II Canadian Research Fund. The Queen Elizabeth II Canadian Research Fund Act (SC 1959, c.33) established the Fund of \$1 million to be administered by a board of trustees to aid in research on the diseases of children. The Prime Minister reports to Parliament on the operations of the Fund.

Restrictive Trade Practices Commission. The Restrictive Trade Practices Commission is responsible under the Combines Investigation Act (RSC 1970, c.C-23) for appraising evidence submitted to it by the Director of Investigation and Research and the parties under investigation, holding hearings and making reports to the Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs.

Roosevelt Campobello International Park Commission. Established by the Roosevelt Campobello International Park Commission Act (SC 1964-65, c.19), the Commission consists of six members, three appointed by the Government of Canada and three by the Government of the United States, to administer the Roosevelt Campobello International Park at Campobello, NB. The Canadian section of the Commission reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State for External Affairs.

Royal Canadian Mint. The Royal Canadian Mint has been in operation since 1908. It was first established as a branch of the Royal Mint under the (Imperial) Coinage Act of 1870, and opened on January 2, 1908. On December 1, 1931, it became the Royal Canadian Mint and operated as a branch of the Department of Finance. In 1969, the Mint became a Crown agency corporation, reporting to Parliament through the Minister of Supply and Services. It operates under authority of RSC 1970, c.R-8.

The latter change was made to provide for a more industrial type of organization and for flexibility in producing coins of Canada and other countries; buying, selling, melting, assaying and refining gold and other precious metals; and producing metals, plaques and other devices. The Mint has a seven-man board of directors appointed by the Governor in Council — the Master of the Mint who is its chief executive officer appointed to serve during pleasure, the chairman who is appointed for a four-year period, subject to re-appointment, and five other directors, two from inside and three from outside the Public Service, who are appointed for terms of three years. The Mint now operates basically as a manufacturing enterprise, with the object of making a small profit. Financial requirements are provided through loans from the Consolidated Revenue Fund.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police, a civil force organized and administered by the federal government, was established in 1873 as the North-West Mounted Police. It now operates under authority of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act (RSC 1970, c.R-9) and is responsible for enforcing federal laws throughout Canada. By agreement with the governments of eight provinces (all provinces except Ontario and Quebec) it is also responsible for enforcing the Criminal Code of Canada and provincial laws within those provinces under the direction of the respective Attorneys General. In these provinces the Force provides police services to 166 municipalities, assuming enforcement responsibilities for criminal, provincial and municipal laws. The Yukon Territory and Northwest Territories are policed exclusively by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. A Commissioner, appointed by the Governor in Council, has control and management of the Force and of all matters connected therewith, under the direction of the Solicitor General of Canada.

St. Lawrence Seaway Authority. The St. Lawrence Seaway Authority was established by Act of Parliament in 1951 (RSC 1970, c.s-1) and came into force by proclamation on July 1, 1954. The Authority was incorporated for the purposes of constructing, maintaining and operating all such works as may be necessary to provide and maintain, either wholly in Canada or in conjunction with works undertaken by an appropriate authority in the United States, a deep waterway between the Port of Montreal and Lake Erie. The Crown corporation, Seaway International Bridge Corporation Limited, is subsidiary to the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority. The Authority is composed of a president, a vice-president and a member, and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Science Council of Canada. The Science Council of Canada was established in 1966 (RSC 1970, c.S-5) and became a Crown corporation on April 1, 1969. The Council consists of 25 members, each having a specialized interest in science or technology, and four associate members chosen from among officers or employees of the federal government. Members hold office for terms of not more than three years and associate members hold office during pleasure. All are appointed by the Governor in Council. The duties of the Science Council are to assess in a comprehensive manner Canada's scientific and technological